MAKRIS SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA made its first concert in Belgrade, Serbia, on January 31, 2015. The orchestra operates under the auspices of the Makris Music Society and bears the name of the American-Greek composer Andreas Makris (1930-2005).


With the aim to preserve, promote and protect the music and legacy of Andreas Makris, as well as support the development of young musical talents, Makris Music Society has, through its foundation, helped many young artists with scholarships that enabled them to attend masterclasses and workshops in Belgrade, Russia, Germany, Great Britain, USA and Austria. The foundation also helped purchase of musical instruments which are being used by the orchestra as well as other organizations with which the orchestra collaborates.


MSO pays special attention to stylistic interpretation and depending on the repertoire the musicians play on modern or period instruments, or they use certain elements that are appropriate for the appropriate interpretation (e.g. classical or baroque bows). The orchestra gathers some of the most talented musicians in the region, and received the "Orchestra of the Year" Award in 2016 from the Belgrade-based music magazine "Muzika Klasika". In the past several years it has been presenting concerts and operas in Belgrade, Novi Sad and other cities, and has collaborated with soloists such as Evelyn Berezovsky, Natasa Veljkovic, Srdjan Vukasinovic, Urmin Majstorovic, and others. MSO is also the official "orchestra in residence" of the award-winning New Belgrade Opera.


piano concerto

in d minor



natasa veljkovic



Predrag Gosta 



SMETANA Molday - Makris Symphony Orchestra (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00
TCHAIKOVSKY Overture 1812 - Makris Symphony Orchestra (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00
PROKOFIEV Montagues and Capulets (from Romeo & Julia) - Makris Symphony Orchestra (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00
RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No. 3 - excerpt (solo: Evelyne Berezovsky) - Makris Symphony Orchestra (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00
MUSSORGSKY/RAVEL Pictures at an Exhibition - Makris Symphony Orchestra (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00


MOZART Overture from Le Nozze di Figaro - Makris Symphony Orchestra (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00
HANDEL Chorus "For unto us a child is born" (from Messiah) - Makris Symphony Orchestra & ORFELIN Chorus (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00


MORRICONE Theme from the Mission (solo: Vera Dragas) - Makris Symphony Orchestra (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00
ZIMMER Theme from the Gladiator - Makris Symphony Orchestra (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00
MAKRIS Aegean Festival Overture - Makris Symphony Orchestra (LIVE)
00:00 / 00:00

PHONE: +1 404 414 5510 (also Viber & WhatsApp)

+1 (202) 355-0290

ADDRESS: Zadužbina Ilije M. Kolarca • Studentski trg 5 • 11000 Belgrade • Serbia

Copyright © 2019 Makris Music Society, Inc. All rights reserved